Local winners announced at the Tasmanian Landcare Awards ceremony on Tuesday 14 May

Wednesday 15th May 2024|Winners for the Tasmania Landcare Awards at Government House Tasmania, have been proudly announced, recognising the outstanding contributions from locals to the environment and community.

The Landcare Awards honour the remarkable accomplishments of individuals, groups and organisations, young and old, dedicated to protecting Tasmania’s natural resources and building resilient landscapes for the future. The award winners and their projects are diverse, including climate innovation, community partnerships, sustainable agriculture, youth, and collaboration with First Nations.

Peter Stronach Landcare Tasmania CEO expressed his thanks to the Landcare Award sponsors, dignitaries and special guests, while acknowledging the finalists and winners as landcare champions in their community.

“This year the awards ceremony falls on Landcare Tasmania’s 30th Birthday, giving us a chance to reflect on the remarkable achievements of our community’s landcare champions. In honouring the finalists and winners, we celebrate their dedication – they are the backbone of our Landcare efforts, inspiring us all to work together to reduce biodiversity loss and protect our food, fibre, and natural areas”.

Winners of the State & Territory Landcare Award categories will represent Tasmania at the National Landcare Awards to be held in late 2025.

Landcare Australia CEO, Dr Shane Norrish, commended recipients of Tasmanian Landcare Awards on their outstanding accomplishments.

“The Tasmanian Landcare Award winners have shown an exceptional level of commitment to landcare activities by restoring and protecting the natural environment where they live and work. Their achievements benefit not only our land and water assets but is helping to create partnerships and build community resilience across Australia. As we come together to celebrate and acknowledge their efforts, we also find inspiration in their hard work, and a reminder to us all that landcare is a collective effort.

  • Australian Government Climate Innovation Award

Winner: Regenerative Agriculture Network Tasmania

  • Australian Government Sustainable Agriculture Landcare Award

Winner: Leap Farm

  • Australian Government Individual Landcarer Award

Winner: Vivienne Ann Briggs

  • Australian Government Community Partnerships Landcare Award

Winner: The Understorey Network Inc

  • Greyhound Coastcare Award

Winner: Kingston Beach Coastcare

  • First Nations Landcare Collaboration Award

Winner: South East Tasmanian Aboriginal Corporation

  • Women in Landcare Award

Winner: Vivienne Ann Briggs

  • Woolworths Junior Landcare Award

Winner: Collinsvale Primary School

go to top

Share This
Share This